Attitude of (In)Gratitude

HGTV (Home and Garden Television) is one of my favorite channels on cable.  Shows like House Hunters, Property Virgins, and Flip this House afford me the excitement as I live vicariously through others.  The best show, and the one that stirs me on a deeper level is House Hunters International.  This show gives me the chance to travel the world from the comfort of my couch.  That may sound appealing, but it actually breaks my heart.  If you are a regular reader of my blog you know that I have traveled a bit, and thrive off the simplicity of life; a life often minimized, looked down upon as being behind the times.

This backwards mindset is reinforced when I watch the house hunting shows, especially Property Virgins.  I watch young singles and couples shopping for their first home and I cringe when I hear, “This bathroom is so small,” or “The master bedroom isn’t very big,” or “These counters aren’t granite.”  Whoa.  Stop. Seriously.  Just what is it that you are doing in the bathroom that you need so much room for?  Do you find yourself entertaining company with line dancing and yoga in your master suite, or are you just there to sleep?  You could actually HAVE counters!

This perceived essence of entitlement and greed oozes from my TV screen.  Please understand this – if you have been blessed and you are selflessly sharing your blessings with others, may you be further blessed and blessed abundantly.  But if you are selfish and feel entitled to only the best…besides being spoiled, immature, and whiny, you haven’t earned it and you are missing out on life and the things that matter.

I heard today that more people in developing countries (third world countries) more often report themselves as “happy” versus those in developed and industrialized nations.  How could that be?  Some people don’t have beds or even floors in some cases.  They don’t have the iPhone 5 or the XBox 360 Kinect.  Hey, some don’t even have electricity!  Yet they are happy?  That caused me to pause, and I hope it makes you stop for just a minute also, and think about that.  We have an ever increasing number of people being diagnosed with depression (myself included) and taking pills or drugs to get us happy.

What makes you happy?  Are you happy?  If you were stripped of your belongings and the only thing you have left is the relationships with people around you…where would you find happiness?  Could you find happiness?

I think the further we progress, the more we are losing.

Everyone has a story.  Is your’s one that show’s who you really are…and is that a show you want others to watch?

Leave a Reply

